Maryland State Inspections
Frederick, MD Repair and Inspection Facility
Carriage House Automotive has been performing Maryland State Inspections in the Frederick, MD area since 1988! This makes us one of the oldest Maryland State Inspection Stations in Frederick. As such, we have the experience needed to inspect your car correctly and keep you on the road. Our knowledge, equipment, computer aided diagnosis, and ASE trained master technicians will make the process smooth and efficient for you. Whether your vehicle is a passenger car, a light truck, SUV, or a small trailer we can fit your needs. Call us for a Maryland State Inspection appointment and let us see how we can fit your needs.
Maryland State Vehicle Safety Inspection Information
If you are moving into Maryland, or if you already live in Maryland and are buying a car, you will need to have the Maryland State Inspection. Most used vehicles are required by the state of Maryland to undergo a safety inspection prior to its sale or transfer. Generally, the seller or transferor of the vehicle will obtain the inspection certificate on a new car, but if a vehicle is purchased as is the buyer may need to have it done. The purchaser/transferee then submits the inspection certificate to the MVA in order to register the vehicle.
What types of vehicles can we inspect?
Carriage House Automotive is authorized to perform Maryland State Inspections in Frederick, MD on:
- Passenger cars.
- Light trucks and SUV’s with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less.
- Trailers that are 20 feet in length or less, without air brakes.
To be safe, always call us ahead of time to make sure your vehicle is one we are able to do.
How long does it take?
The Maryland State Inspection should take about 1 to 2 hours for most vehicles once the registered inspection mechanic begins work. Certain vehicles (e.g., trailers) may take less time. When the mechanic has finished, he will prepare an inspection report that shows the vehicle parts or systems examined, and whether or not they have met Maryland’s standards. If the vehicle meets all safety standards, the registered inspection mechanic will prepare and give you two copies of the Maryland Inspection Certificate. You should take the MVA copy (green) to any full service MVA branch office and submit it with the other documents needed to title and register your vehicle in Maryland. The Purchaser’s copy (goldenrod) is for your records. If a dealer owns the vehicle, the Purchaser’s copy must be affixed to the vehicle’s window.
What happens if my vehicle fails the safety inspection?
If your vehicle fails to meet even one safety standard, the Maryland Inspection Certificate cannot be issued. You must the problem(s) identified on the station’s inspection report fixed and then have the vehicle re-inspected by the same registered inspection mechanic at the same station. You have the option of fixing the problem yourself, having us fix the problem, or taking the vehicle to another facility for repairs.
If the vehicle is re-inspected within 30 days after the original inspection date and you have driven it less than 1,000 miles, we will only need to inspect the defective equipment identified during the initial inspection. However, if a new defect is visually observed during the re-inspection, the newly discovered defect must also be repaired and re-inspected. See Maryland’s regulations for details. Note: Inspection stations can charge you for each re-inspection, unless the repair can be easily visually verified. If you do not have the vehicle re inspected within 30 days or you exceed 1,000 miles, you will be required to pay for a new, complete inspection.